July 7, 2022

Democrats Retain Top Spot in Lyme Uncontested, Make Other Gains Notably on Board of Finance

First Selectman Steve Mattson (right) and  Selectman John Kiker, both Democrats, retain their respective seats on the Lyme Board of Selectmen.

LYME – The only real race in Lyme saw Democrats Bob House and Alan Sheiness edge out Republican Bruce Anderson for seats on the board of finance.

All other races in Lyme were uncontested so Democrat Steve Mattson remains as First Selectman with fellow Democrat John Kiker as Second Selectman. David Lahm joins the board as the minority Republican.

On learning the results of today’s municipal election, Lyme Democratic Town Committee (DTC) Chairman John Kiker issued the following statement: “On the behalf of everyone at the Lyme DTC, I would like to thank the residents of Lyme for electing a full slate of highly qualified Democratic candidates whose experience and expertise will benefit our town boards and commissions. We are particularly excited about our additions to the Board of Finance and the Planning & Zoning Commission, who will help ensure these important boards are balanced with Democratic values.”

He continued, “All of the newly elected Democratic officials love our town and want Lyme to stay the beautiful, historic town that it is; and they are grateful to have the opportunity to serve the residents of our town.”

Kiker added, “I would also like to thank all the volunteers who helped run our campaign this year – in particular, the members of our Nominating Committee, who did such an excellent job of recruiting some of Lyme’s best and brightest to run for public office.”

Noting, “The Lyme DTC’s mission is to support and strengthen the Democratic Party in the Town of Lyme and the State of Connecticut. The committee meets on the fourth Thursday of every month at 7:30 p.m. in the Lyme Town Hall (barring holidays or other necessary schedule changes),” Kiker concluded, “These meetings are open to the public and all registered Democrats are encouraged to attend.”