December 11, 2018

Mattson Re-elected as Democrat First Selectman in Lyme Joined by Newcomer Kiker; Lord Also Re-elected, Wayland Loses Seat

Steven Mattson

After learning the results of today’s municipal election, Lyme First Selectman Steven Mattson, who received 553 votes, and newly elected Selectman John Kiker (435 votes) issued the following statement:

“We would like to thank the people of the Town of Lyme for electing us to the board of selectmen.  We are grateful to have the opportunity to serve you and work on your behalf for the next two years.

“We look forward to working with Parker Lord (507 votes) on the board of selectmen to:

  • recruit good, experienced townspeople to serve on town boards, commissions and committees, and train them to help lead our town into the future;
  • strengthen our town’s communications on important news, issues and decisions, and explain how residents can take advantage of available opportunities to voice their support or concerns; and
  • ensure important town decisions include a thorough explanation of applicable regulations and residents’ concerns.

“We want to thank all of the many volunteers who helped out – including our peers on the Lyme Democratic Town Committee – for an excellent job running our campaign and encouraging residents to turn out to vote. 

“We were delighted to learn that Lyme voters chose Jeannine Lewis as their choice for District 33 Probate Judge – and eagerly await the final election results for our district.

“We love this town and want to help keep it the way it is – beautiful, historic and sparsely developed.  We look forward to contributing meaningfully to its future.  Thank you.”

Republican First Selectman candidate Mark Wayland received 398 votes.

The Lyme DTC’s mission is to support and strengthen the Democratic Party in the Town of Lyme and the State of Connecticut.  The committee meets on the fourth Thursday of every month at 7:30 p.m. in the Lyme Town Hall (barring holidays or other necessary schedule changes). These meetings are open to the public and all registered Democrats are encouraged to attend.


Speak Your Mind